What's the Difference Between Invalidate and Purge?

When our service optimizes content on a specific page, this content is cached on your site, and it is subsequently served to future visitors. There are two ways to refresh this content - Invalidate and Purge.

Invalidate only marks the cached content as "stale," but keeps serving it until newly optimized content is available. As a result, your visitors always see optimized content, even though it may be outdated for a short while.

Purge deletes the cached file from your site, meaning your site visitors will immediately see the updated content. However, it won't be optimized for a while until NitroPack prepares the newly optimized content. Usually, this takes between a few seconds to a few minutes.

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 9 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.