Moving Websites from Another NitroPack Account to Yours

In some cases, websites associated with a certain NitroPack account can be claimed by your account. 

You can only move (or reclaim) sites that are not using a paid plan. If the site you want to move is on a paid subscription, you have to contact our support team at support@nitropack.io

For all other cases, here’s how you can move/reclaim a site:

First, you’ll need a NitroPack account. If you don’t have one, go to https://nitropack.io/, click on the “Get Started” button and select the Free Plan.

When registering, fill out a random website in the “Website URL” field. Don’t worry about using a random site - the point is to get access to your NitroPack Dashboard by creating a free account. The registered site can’t be affected since you won’t connect it to our service.

Once you log into your NitroPack Dashboard, click on “Add new website”.

Add_New.png

Once the pop-up window appears, click on the “Your website is registered to another account?” text at the bottom.

image.png

You’ll be taken to a new screen with instructions on how to verify ownership of the site. To do so, you can either:

  • Upload a file to a specific location on your site;
  • Add a small line of code to the <head> tag of your homepage.

image__2_.png

If you choose the first option, you have to upload a .txt file in the specified directory: 

example.com/.well-known/nitro-verification.txt 

The file has to contain only the text provided by us. It looks like this:

nitro-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

image__1_.png

If you upload a file to another directory or with different contents, the verification process will fail. 

Also, the file has to be publicly available. Make sure that anyone can access it by typing its URL in a browser.

If you choose the second option, you have to add the provided tag to your homepage’s <head>.

image__3_.png

Regardless of the method, make sure to follow the instructions and click on “Check Proof and continue” when you’re done. If everything’s okay, the site will automatically be transferred to your account and assigned to a free subscription. The site's settings will remain the same after the reclamation.

The previous account associated with the site will receive an email about the reclamation.

Please note that the reclamation process expires in seven days. If you don't complete the steps above within that timeframe, you'll have to restart the process.

Lastly, this process only works if no previous reclamation was made for the site. There can only be one successful reclamation per website.

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 8 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.